Shore Area NOW




Abbie Spector – President

Lynn Hansen – Treasurer; LGBTQ Rights Acting Committee Head

Mariel Didato – Co-organizer; Repro. Rights Committee Head; Facebook Manager

Aimee Rabino – Recording Secretary

Kathleen Culver – Chapter Website Developer

Deb Zappulla – Ending Violence Against Women Committee Head and Economic Justice Committee Head


Shore Area NOW Updates and Info:

1.   Abbie made a few announcements:

a.   Amy Handlin abstained from voting on restoring much needed family planning funds in NJ on June 29th. If you are in District 13, call her office to log your disapproval.

b.   There is a new campaign about Bill 676 (One Payer Medicare for All) sponsored by Congressman John Conyers (Wisconsin). It’s been introduced every year for the last 14 years and goes nowhere. To make the public aware, Conyers is doing a campaign called window treatment. For more information, see:

c.   Due to President Trump’s intention of banning transgendered persons in the military, there is a rally for transgender service members sponsored by Garden State Equality on July 29, 2017 starting at 11:00am in Asbury Park (101 Asbury Avenue).

2.   Committee Reports:

a.   Reproductive Rights Committee: Mariel shared that the focus of the effort should be on ACA.

b.   LGBTQ Rights Committee: Lynn shared that the committee has not met since the last chapter meeting (this committee meets every other month) and that the next meeting is on Wednesday, August 16th, at 6:00pm in Eatontown.

c.   Constitutional Equality Committee – Theresa was not present and, therefore, no report.

d.   Ending Violence Against Women Committee and Economic Justice Committee – Lynn introduced Deb Zappulla who will be the Committee Head for these two committees. Deb is reaching out to past and present meeting attendees who expressed interest in these committees and intends on kicking the effort off in the September timeframe.

3.   Lynn share that Chapter Office Elections are November 2nd, 2017.  The positions are President, (3) VP positions, Treasurer and Secretary

a.   VP of Program Management, VP of Fundraising, VP of Membership

Job Descriptions and the presentation can be found on

The Process begins September 3rd with nominations (and self nominations)

October 9th – Nominees notify leadership

October 10th – Nominees are announced

November 2nd – Election (Chapter Members Only)


Program: Guest Speaker for tonight’s meeting:

Mariel DiDato & Tina Morgan


Ms DiDato and Ms Morgan gave an informative presentation on their organization 180 Turning Lives Around.  After some eye opening statistics on domestic violence and sexual abuse, they explained all the programs and services provided by 180.